Head First into Google SketchUp


So when Google released Sketchup, it had been a year since I had done any work in a 3d program.  My training in 3d was mostly in Maya although more than once I had to dip into 3d Studio to get some other things to work.  My final semester of Maya resulting in a 30 second video of two space-ships firing broadsides at one another.

But being one guy, I just couldn’t get Maya to do what I wanted it to do.  So I walked away from 3d to focus on illustration and later digital painting.  Getting back to Google SketchUp; I was interested upon release and like I normally do I jumped right in, not bothering to learn how to use it.  I un-installed it the same day.  Years passed and then yesterday I had an idea.

As I work on developing website material for the Real Estate company I work for, I decided it was time to look at Google SkethUp again, teach myself to use it and then use it to make a house.  This of course spawned about 400 ideas of how the program could be used by the Real Estate world by and large.  As well as giving me about 400 creative projects I wanted to do for myself.

This is my first model made in the program, and it also happens to be the image I will use to finish a chunk of our site.  What really strikes me about Google SketchUp is how easy it is to use, once you get the basic rules set in your head.  For this model I basically looked at a host of blueprints I found online, using Google(of course), and then cut them up to make my own house.  🙂

I am not sure what the future will hold for me and Google SketchUp, but this is just the tip of the iceberg.

-TheGrav

Leave a Reply

