Playing with a girl…


The best way to get to know this girl, and make her a woman, is to jump right in.

I decided to take screenshots this time around so you could get a look at my colour palettes, tools, and brush.  Realistically it won’t help much unless you have some experience with Painter, but it is a good glimpse of how the program can be setup and used.

I started in charcoal, moved onto an oil brush, and then started to toss in some air-brush strokes as I moved.  This is all very rough at this point, I have thrown down some basic gesture work, as well as what I think the background elements may look like, and I have just generally made a huge mess.

However to me at this point the really important stuff is the gesture, the feel the composition of the piece.   I am going for a vulnerable but sexy feeling, she is nude, and only partially covered.  Her one hand almost reaching for a keyboard.

As you can see here, I have tweaked the gesture a bit, laid her back more on the floor(which will eventually be covered in water) and moved her leg about a few times.

It is important to note I have jumped back into Photoshop to do some of this, as you can see I have cut and moved/morphed several elements all ready.

A lot of digital artists seem to get to the end before they really move into a place where they use the morph tools to correct some piece of their art.  I like to remember that these tools are always at my finger tips, and it is often easier to fix and morph as you go, as it is to do all that as a last step.

It is important to note here, that unlike my normal method Lain (the adult) started life purely as a digital work.  There was no sketch, or refinement process.  I have even stuck away form photo reference up until this point, purely because I am going for that more anime/comic look.

That being the case you can really see the wide variety of colours I use to make the skin tone.  Skin is not just a pale pink, or a flesh colour.  It is a mix of as many colours as you can think of.  It has a richness that cannot really be captured without mixing a lot of colour as you work.

Of course as I move on her skin will continue to change colour even more, picking up traces of the environmental colours and later lighting/reflective lighting elements.

More to come soon!

-TheGrav

2 thoughts on “Playing with a girl…

  1. Hey pretty cool just one suggestion make the feet smaller 🙂 but Im sure you knew about it and are going to fix it later keep it up looking cool.

Leave a Reply

