City 7: The Dead Never Rest.


We have officially launched our IndieGoGo Campaign for City 7.  To track our progress or to help us out please run on over the City 7 on IndieGoGo and nab one of our Sweet Uber-Cool Perk packages!!!  Which we have not gotten around to photographing any of yet.  🙂

Anyway it is time for me to buckle down and being to work on the movie poster!  I know I know, we are this far along with no movie poster.. WHAT!!

Personally I grew up as a Star Wars kid (My step-mom also really loved Star Trek, but I try not to hold it against her :P) so I have always been drawn to the painted style movie posters over the photographic versions.

Classic Movie Poster, A New Hope, Star Wars

Step 1 is the idea.. step 2 is GO TO GOOGLE!  A quick search for classic movie posters showed me all sorts of awesome old school illustration and painting posters, just what I was looking for!

But wait.. then I remember Left 4 Dead.  For anyone that read my blog and isn’t a huge gamer geek, Left 4 Dead had some amazing movie poster style loading screens.  All this research led me to step 3, which is the “…” part.  In this case it means I will be doing a bit of art!

It has been awhile since I have done anything this complicated and exact, so I set myself to collecting just a bit more information.  For instance classic movie poster(or those made before 1985) were 27″ x 41″.

Valve, Left 4 Dead, Video GamesWith my inspirations laid out, my size research completed and an idea of where I wanna be, it is time to set out!

City 7 takes place in San Diego, and features a cast of ten characters, plus an uncounted horde of zombies.  I will not be trying to crunch all of that onto one poster!  But San Diego, and some Zombies, now that is do-able!

Stay tuned!  I will be following my poster design process for the next few days!  Estimated time is around 60 hours for this entire project!

-TheGrav

Leave a Reply

