City 7 Posters, Thumbnails


Most art projects start with thumbnail sketches.  This is true of my work, I like too work quick and dirty and small laying out the idea rather than focusing on the details.  This really helps to get the basic theme of what I am designing and I find it to be the one of the best starting places.

Illustration, Zombies, ThumbnailsIllustration, Zombiesillustration, zombies

Here we have the 3 thumbnails I choose form all the quick ones I did while trying to come up with the City 7 Movie poster.  I am trying to stick with a classic painted movie poster look, along with the classic 27″ x 41″ layout.   So as I drew these I tried to smash them into what I thought that box might look like.

Once I had decided on these three I took the first two and did a bit more detail work on them.  The third one will be done mostly in photoshop, with just some finishing work to make it look like a painting, as where the others will actually need a bit of painting and finishing.

Zombie, Movie Poster, City 7Here is poster number one in more detail.  The Scanner I am using is not the best, but still this should show a bit more of what I am trying to get towards.  I added room at the bottom for the movie bits, I have two fonts used, and I have more detail on the central and later to be painted figure.

My copy is very light so I can start to outline it and lay color down with Painter or Photoshop without having to compete with myself.  🙂  Realistically I will use my actual hand sketch as a constant reference as I work, making sure that the details I want on this Zombie come out just right.

Zombies, Illustration, City 7 This is the second poster done with a bit more detail.  This one is personally my favorite, because of the dynamic of having three zombies, as well as how I have gone a little over the top to really show off some of what So Cal residents know is San Diego.

All three posters will take a mix of work in Painter, Photoshop and possibly some 3d.  However I am going to try to stick with mainly just Painter and Photoshop.

All my elements are decided on and basically in place, so I will move onto the next step which is basically collecting some resource materials and setting up the “standard” poster elements.  Such as: size, credits, background color.

More to come as I move forward.  Also I am still doing #sketchaday work but I am not taking the time to scan it in!  Once City 7 work has calmed down just a bit more, I will begin to post those again!

-TheGrav

Leave a Reply

