Evil Inc.


So a few months back I was driving home from work and I ended up behind this guy who’s rear window vinyl decals were so old they were just dying.

At a glance I would have guessed that they belonged to one of the hundreds of popular surf companies that have come and gone here in So Cal over the last ten years.  But that wasn’t nearly as important as what it inspired me to work on… I didn’t see the logo it was meant to be, I saw Cthulhu

Sketch, Cthulhu, Dark Art, IllustrationThis is the Sketch I came up with for my full design.  I was moving toward a corporate sort of logo look, so clean and simple.

You can get an idea of how I work in pen off this image, using red ink I did a lot of the rough work before I went over that in black to define the lines I wanted to save.

Now I new I wanted to get this cut out of vinyl so I worked and aimed towards that goal from the beginning.  Once the basic design was set on paper I moved to Illustrator to make it into a nice line drawing that could be dye-cut so I could make a few and in this case slap one down on the top of my gaming rig at home.

Cthulhu, Illustrator, Sketch, Vinyl Dye-CutAnd here it is as an Illustrator file ready to be cut!  I decided to add the letters “EVL” in a Lovecraftian font down the tie after a short talk with a co-worker and then we set about testing it to get it to cut right and look good.

We actually had to cut about 3 before we got the thickness to work right, and then all I had to do was pick a color!  I went with a darker “dried” blood red!

It is a simple yet very cool custom sticker and I liked making it from the ground up!  Sooner or later I may try to cut a larger one in white and slap it on my car!

I will snap a picture of the sticker applied soon and share it with you all!

 

-TheGrav

 

One thought on “Evil Inc.

  1. Pingback: WALLTAT Wall Decals on Ron Hazelton’s Show

Leave a Reply

