City 7 Poster 1, Updates…


Nothing can be as rewarding as finally smashing your way through a huge chunk of freelance work, freeing up a few hours of the night, and sitting down to paint.

To be completely honest, I had painting in my plans for the last 2 weeks, but Minecraft is a sweet, seductive, and very time consuming mistress… However Most of this weekend went into a few projects I have been working on, so when it came time to do some painting I decided to keep the ball rolling and get back to work finishing the City7 Posters.

(After all the deadline is approaching so I need to get to it..)

I could go into massive detail on what I did here, but it is not really that exciting and I didn’t have the fore-thought to make a good play by play.  Basically I dragged the painting into photoshop, chopped it up a bit, re-sized here and there, erased about half, and then made it look like a zombie again.  I was really harsh on the piece as a whole, really tearing apart my work to get the look I wanted, rather than the look I was getting.

Here is another look, a bit farther along, and as you can see I have started to really add a lot of detail and color into the mix.  Next few steps will deal a lot with continuing to texture, detail and hone the image.  On this piece, unlike a few I have shown in the past I have not gone with a pre-canned texture, instead I have be working on all those small details myself.

This poster, along with two others are being worked on to support Digital Raven’s first film City7.  If you are interested in getting you hands on a signed copy of this poster(when it’s finished of course!) head on over to our Indiegogo page and check us out!

-TheGrav

2 thoughts on “City 7 Poster 1, Updates…

  1. How do Zombies find time in the day to work out? He was not “born” with that flat stomach, and with his “eat anything that moves” fatty diet, it must takes hours every day to maintain that physique. Grrrrrr…

    -Goodge

Leave a Reply

