Prop design and other deviations…


I have a hard time buying, renting, or copying a Halloween costume, it might be the artist in me or the costume designer, writer, and prop maker, but somehow every year I make something.  Now that isn’t to say I don’t base it off things, I do, or that I don’t have some theme, I normally have that too.

So this year, a few months ago,( see how current I am in my own timeline these days?) I decided to do a space pirate/bounty hunter/something.  1 part Firefly, 1 part warhammer, 1 part “crazy”, blend and you get what I did.  Anyway in order to pull it off I decided to finally get to one of my long standing prop projects.

Mainly trying to make one of these.. Kal Jerico, Prop Design, Warhammer 40kFor a little background this is Kal Jerico‘s Laser Pistol from the Warhammer 40k universe.  Now I didn’t really want to make his exact gun, just something similar.  Also he has two 🙂  As near as I can tell it is a Naval Officer Pattern Laser Pistol from the 40k universe, but other than that I just had a few images to work with in order to come up with my props.

Now A long time ago I found myself in a GameStop and they where having one of those “everything must go” sorts of sales on controllers, and devices.  I didn’t even hesitate, I nabbed three old school Nintendo zappers, the type used in Duck Hunt, unscrewed them and removed the cords.  This was about 9 years ago, before I really had a desire to collect old gaming equipment, and honestly really before it became the in things to do, besides I am a designer, so re purposing is in my blood!nintendo zapper, duck hunt, zapper

So these four guns have been laying in my “to-do” box for a few years, and it just so happened that this year I decided it was time to build something!  A quick raid of the garage, a trip to get some 5mm thick pvc and so paint and I hand these mocked up and ready for Halloween.

laser pistols, bounty hunter, kal jerico

Not the best work I have done, but great first mock-ups.  Here is another view to give you and idea of size.

bounty hunter, props, warhammer 40k

I am not 100% happy with these, and looks like I will be tearing them apart and working on the 2nd mock ups soon.  Biggest issue?  I jacked my paintball barrels and I need them Back! 🙂

-TheGrav

Related articles
Leave a Reply

