I don’t always Visit other planets but when I do…


Earlier today, while working on the Warp Gate, I had this crazy idea.  One of my stranger ideas, but I thought it would make a great painting!  The idea for this painting is a simple phrase:  “I don’t always Visit Other Planets, But when I do I leave crop circles.”  Time to collect resources and throw them together in a quick outline.

I Google search “The most interesting man in the world, saved a pretty low quality images, as I am using it as only quick reference, and for the layout and then I dug through all my original created space images, tossed them all into Photoshop and came up with this layout.

Most Interesting Alien, Ryan Berry, Digital Painting

The resources I created from the ground up are in use in the small window, behind what will eventually be my alien.  This sort of quick mock-up is something I do often.  Most of the time I just combine a bunch of my own images, rather than using one I downloaded however in this case I am trying to match a very specific image.  So I cheated a little bit!  Of course by the time I am done formatting the image it will be a lot different.

Here are the two images I combined in the background to make the environment look good.  The layout and size I chose for this image so it could in theory be printed out at standard poster size.

Dust Planet, Digital Painting, Science Fiction, Ryan Berry

This is the image I placed on the background layer.  I only wanted to use a chunk of the star field.

Living world, Digital Painting, Ryan Berry

Another older digital painting, this time of an earth like planet.  I wanted this planet to be above the background layer, creating a sense of depth.

Alien, Science Fiction, Digital Painting, Ryan Berry

Two hours later…  Not quite done yet, but getting there.

-TheGrav

 

Leave a Reply

