100 words…


Yesterday I explored why we as a culture like darker themes, and why I as a writer have a tendency to explore and expand on some of those same darker themes.  However merely exploring the how and why, doesn’t get a book written.  As identified previously, this is one of my current issues.

As a freelancer in graphic design, marketing, and illustrator I keep myself pretty busy.  Which also means I have to execute a certain amount of self-discipline in order to get any given task completed in a day.  Most of the time, I am able to get everything I need done, and still have at least some time to focus on producing art.  But I have a hard time sitting down to focus on writing itself.

What tends to happen in my case is I will go through incredibly productive writing phases, that are limited to just a few days.  Then it will be weeks before the bug hits me again, and I will have to spend the first hour or so of my writing time, reading what I have previously written.  Which leads to me tweaking it, editing things, adding things, sometimes entire paragraphs are born into the middle of pre-existing work.  All of this is good, but I feel that I am not doing it as efficiently as I could.

Focusing on the problem only gets you so far, and so I have bent my mind to seeking solutions.  An easy solution has developed out of my current muse.  ‘B’ and I have been together for a little over a month, but I have never experienced such a supportive and inspiring person.  Her ability to keep me sane, fan the flames of my creativity, and gently nudge me in a positive direction, is awe-inspiring.  I feel that in this person I have truly found a soul-mate.

Why is this so important to my goal of writing?  Simple, she encourages me to write.  Asking hard questions when I need them asked, and most recently making a promise to send me off to work on it when I am being a bump on a log.  This isn’t enough though, as mentioned she is my muse.  Poetry and art given elemental force and unleashed on my heart and soul.  Quite simply, she makes me want to paint and create beauty.  Savaged is not a pretty universe.

It is corrupt, filled with political organizations and figures that are pulling the strings of a decaying empire.  Savaged is much like a primitive bonfire, in the dark wilderness of space.  Just like primitive man, the races of Savaged play out their entire dramas around this beacon of warmth and light, with little idea of what the darkness around them holds.  Not always the type of stuff you can focus on writing when your muse is so damn beautiful.

I have set to the task if creating my own goals.  But I have little to no idea how I was going to do that.  Thankfully WordPress came to my rescue.  Glancing around at the wealth of creative bloggers, I started to notice a theme.  Creative writers are using their blogs as benchmark tools to track self-made goals, and at times relying on the community to help push them back on target.  This is where my idea to write a 100 words a day comes from.

However Worldcrafter is not the best platform to realize this task.  Those of you who have been following me for the last year or so, may remember a time when I mentioned my fictional blog, hosted at thegrav.wordpress.com.  Originally started to develop the world of City 7, I have not used it in over a year.  This is mainly due to the fact that City 7 has become a movie and soon will be an ever expanding web-series.  When I do focus on City 7 work, it is normally to take previously written material and convert it into a script, or I am working with the other 2/3rds of our production team to come up with completely new ideas.

This leaves thegrav.wordpress.com, in a prefect position.  If I can set myself to the goal of writing at least 100 words a day, and then posting the results of that exercise, not only can I make headway toward finishing my first Sci-Fi novel.  But maybe I can get a growing community of fans, and critics which will drive my ideas and fuel the Universe that is Savaged.

This is just an idea, in the works…

-TheGrav

One thought on “100 words…

  1. Love the 100 words a day idea! Keep it up! So glad that you and B have found so much happiness together. You both are such awesome people, it’s great to see your radiant joy.

Leave a Reply

