How I Kill myself with indecision


I have been working on my portfolio site for what seems like years… although it has only been a few months.  The idea is to have this stargate like device the floats in the midst of planets, the planets making up the “artsy” links for the different sections of my site.  This works out pretty well.  Using HTML5 and CSS3 I am able to get a quarter gate, in the bottom left corner, with planets positioned around it to look awesome!  In 1920 x 1080…

The problem is with a Liquid Layout as soon as it is re-sized… everything goes to shit.  Well not everything, using some CSS3 trickery I was able to back the background starscape and the gate itself re-size and maintain relative position, but the planets go all to hell and back.  An unfortunate reality that modern web-designers have to take into account is that most people still prefer to view a webpage at 1024 x 768, whether that is their default screen-size or they prefer to browse in windowed mode so their boss doesn’t catch them.

This leaves me with a few options… write something obscenely javascript heavy, that registers the user’s screen-size and spits back the page.  This also requires a lot of coding, as CSS has to be generated for each size detected.  Or I figure out a simple solution for now, and get to finishing.

What this really means is that I am gonna repaint the gate… as I am now centering the navigation page in a 1020px box, rather than having it adhere to the rules of a traditional liquid layout.   For those of you new to Worldcrafter, here is the original gate:

Warp Gate, Digital Painting, Ryan Berry

 

And here is step one of the revision:

Gate

 

Wheee!!! Painting time!

-TheGrav

2 thoughts on “How I Kill myself with indecision

  1. The crescent design of the gate reminds me of some country’s flag. I can’t recall which off hand. China, maybe? I think they have a Crescent and a star on a red field. Yours looks good tho. Although I always imagined that the gate was more of a circle/cylinder rather than a crescent.

    • Yeah, I played around with a full circle a bit. However I decided to go with the open crescent so I could play around with the idea of emitter surfaces, I think I am also trying to stray away from having this art piece look like the Stargate, or any of the gates from EVE.

Leave a Reply

