Teaching an old painting new tricks…


So a few years ago I started trying to paint an underwater scene, some of you might remember this…

1331270153569

 

We are just gonna do the TL;DR version here.  Don’t like it, wasn’t for me, needs to be finished/changed.

Being that Octopuses are one of my favorite animals, and that I wanted to play a lot with color and form I decided on a blue ring octopus as a subject.  In case you aren’t familiar with these guys, here are a few pics!

610_ag_blue-ringed-octopus

 

Here is my process on teaching this old canvass new tricks…

2013-01-27_22-03-50_569

Here I have used sharpie to mark out where I want to octopus to be, and with that done I have laid in a lot of the background coloring.

2013-01-28_09-15-43_933

Next I paint out the area that will be the octopus with white.  Paintings is about layering, and as the background is dark already, I don’t want to layer a light color like yellow, as my final painting will end up darker.  Here I am making sure that I get a nice solid, light yellow color2013-02-02_14-46-13_650

 

Not quite done yet, but here is where I am as of this morning!  More to come soon!

-TheGrav

 

Leave a Reply

