Progress, and a lesson learned…


More work on thegrav.com, almost finished with the background images.. for some reason I always need to sleep on it before I decide I am done.

Colors and Values, Ryan Berry. Warp Gate

Here is the gate getting closed to finished, I have blended all my colors, and refined the values I wanted.

Texturing Step 1

To finish any good digital painting, a bit of time needs to be spent applying textures, and getting the final image to look right.  Here is the first layer of texturing I applied.

Second level of Texturing, Ryan Berry, Warp Gate

Here is the Warp Gate background after the second level of texturing has been applied.  I also refined the edges of the gate, and added some wear and tear.

Final Draft, Warp Gate, Ryan Berry

Here is the Warp Gate after the final touches have been applied to the painting.  I like the rough painted look it retains, and don’t want to make the image much more technical or bog it down under hard edges.  But I still feel it needs something more.

As with most of my art, I need to spend sometime away from the piece so I can think about the piece.  A valuable lesson I learned over the years work both in the freelance world and later behind a desk, never think something is truly finished until you forget about it for a few hours, go do something else, and then come back.

 

Leave a Reply

